S-3 EUROHAB

détection de l’euthrophication et des efflorescences algales nuisibles (HAB) dans la Manche en utilisant les données du satellite Sentinel-3 (S-3)

À propos du projet

S-3 EUROHAB va mettre en place un système d’ alerte en ligne concernant les efflorescences algales nuisibles (HAB) et la qualité de l’eau, utilisant des données satellites pour améliorer la surveillance de ces phénomènes et de leurs paramètres. Le système est développé par des scientifiques en collaboration avec d'autres intervenants tels que des gestionnaires des ressources marines ainsi que les représentants des pêcheurs et des conchyliculteurs.

Le projet S-3 EUROHAB utilisera des données du satellite Européen recemment mis en orbite, Copernicus Sentinel 3, pour mesurer la croissance et la propagation des HAB et l’ abondance de phytoplankton en lien avec la qualité de l’eau dans la Manche. Les données satellites seront utilisées pour créer un système d’alerte en ligne, le premier de ce type en Europe, afin d’alerter les gestionnaires des ressources marines et les secteurs de la pêche et de l’acquaculture de la croissance d’efflorescences potentiellement nuisibles. Les données seront aussi collectées afin de mieux comprendre pourquoi, comment et quand ces efflorescences se produisent. Elles permettrons aussi d’estimer les coûts associés à ces HAB et de comprendre comment le système d’ alerte en ligne pourrait aider à réduire ces coûts.

Contexte

Un exemple d'image satellite montrant une prolifération d'algues au large des côtes du Devon et de Cornwall

Les HAB sont causées par une croissance excessive d'algues qui libèrent des toxines dans l'eau, lesquelles pouvant être toxiques pour les poissons, coquillages et même les humains lorsqu'ils consomment ces produits de la mer contaminés. Elles peuvent donc impacter fortement les secteurs du tourisme et de la pêche. En Europe, les coûts annuels de ces HAB sur lesdits secteurs sont estimés à plus de 918 M€. Une mauvaise qualité des eaux peut également affecter les zones cotières, causant des dommages aux industries maritimes. Par exemple, l'euthrophication, un enrichissement de l'eau en nutriment d'origine humaine, cause une croissance accélérée des algues et une déterioration de la qualité des eaux.

Les méthodes actuelles de suivi des HAB sont inefficaces et onéreuses, la surveillance de seulement 6% de la Manche représente un coût de 2M€ par an. La mise en oeuvre du projet S-3 EUROHAB réduira ces coûts tout en couvrant la totalité de la Manche. Le temps de réponse du système d'alerte aux HAB sera beaucoup plus rapide, ce qui pourrait contribuer à diminuer les coûts annuels associés à ces efflorescence de plusieurs millions d'euros en France et au Royaume-Uni. L'utilisation des données satellites marines, et en particulier l'application des dernières avancées technologiques et le lancement récent des satellites européens Copernicus, permettront une amélioration des méthodes actuelles. Le projet utilisera ces données satellitaires pour créer un système d'alerte en ligne des HAB et de la qualité de l'eau, conçu en collaboration avec les gestionnaires de ressources marines et les industries afin d'améliorer la surveillance maritime des HAB dans la Manche.

Le projet est partiellement financé par le programme Interreg France (Manche) Angleterre et par le Fond de développement régional européen. Le projet est porté par 9organisations, 5 en France (IFREMER-Brest, IFREMER-Port-en-Bessin, IFREMER- Boulogne-sur-Mer, Comité Régional des Pêches de Basse Normandie Université de Bretagne Occidentale) et 4 au Royaume-Uni (Plymouth Marine Laboratory, Environment Agency, University of Southampton, Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority), et sera effectif de Novembre 2017 à Octobre 2021.

Objectifs du projet

  1. 1.

    Créer un réseau de surveillance et un portail de données transfrontaliers afin d'évaluer le bon état écologique des eaux franco-anglaises communes de la Manche.

  2. 2.

    Produire un systéme d'alerte en ligne pour détecter la qualité de l'eau et les HAB en utilisant les données de l'agence spatiale Européenne et des satellites Copernicus les plus récents.

  3. 3.

    Mener une analyse socio-économique des impacts causés par les HAB dans la Manche.

 

Quelques informations clés concernant le projet...

Début

30 mars 2017

Fin

31 octobre 2021

Partenaires

9

Pour les utilisateurs

S-3 EUROHAB va développer de nouvelles approches, en collaboration avec les conchyliculteurs, afin d'aider à minimiser les risques potentiels liés aux HAB et à la qualité de l'eau sur leurs activités. De plus, d'autres secteurs d'activités, dont le tourisme et les activités de loisirs, peuvent aussi être impactés par la présence de HAB.

Le secteur conchylicole dans le Sud-Ouest du Royaume-Uni représente 8.25 M€ annuels, dont 2.9 sont perdus à cause des HAB, qui pourrait être préservés par un système d'alerte. Les coûts actuels de surveillance des HAB dans la Manche s'élevent à 2 M€ par an pour une couverture de seulement 6% de la Manche, quand le système d'alerte S-3 couvre toute la Manche pour 42k€ par an.

Pour les scientifiques

Les HAB et l'euthrophication sont des problèmes communs à toute l'Europe. Ils sont tous les deux surveillés par des bateau d'observations côtiers, et par la détermination des espèces de phytoplankton et les toxines associées dans l'eau, les poissons et les coquillages. Si les toxines excèdent un certain seuil, les récoltes sont interdites sur de larges zones des côtes, des estuaires et du plateau continental. Les HAB et la qualité de l'eau ne peuvent être anticipées et les gestionnaires de ressources marines peuvent seulement réagir à ces évènements lorsqu'ils se produisent. Les observations in situ dans le cadre de la Directive-cadre sur l'eau ne couvrent que 3% de la région franco-anglaise de la Manche. Les sites d'observations sont fixes et il n'est pas possible à l'heure actuelle d'effectuer des prélevements réactifs, en raison d'un manque d'information. Ceci limite la capacité à estimer la propagation des efflorescences d'une région à une autre, en particulier dans le plateau continental de la Manche. Les impacts des HAB sont souvent plus importants du côté francais de la Manche, en raison de l'accumulation du phytoplankton causés par les courants dominants et les apports de nutriments charriés jusqu'aux côtes par les rivières.

Le projet est de développer un portail de données transfrontalier incluant des données in situ et des données du satellite Copernicus Sentinel 3 (S-3), lancé récemment, disponibles via le programme européen d'observation de la Terre. Le portail de données sera utilisé pour estimer les principaux paramètres, la dispersion et le transport des espèces clés des HAB à travers la règion franco-anglaise de la Manche.

Data Portal

Un système de détection précoce

Le portail de données sera également utilisé afin de développer un système d'alerte en ligne afin de fournir aux gestionnaires de ressources marines, et aux industries de la pêche et de la conchyliculture, des informations plus détaillées concernant l'emplacement et la dispersion des HAB dans la Manche. Cela permettra une diminution du temps nécessaire pour mettre en place des interdictions de pêche et de ramassage des coquillages dans les régions affectées par les HAB, tout en maintenant les autres régions actives, réduisant ainsi les impacts économiques sur le secteur. D'autres paramètres utiles pour favoriser la croissance du naissain, seront inclus dans le système d'alerte afin d'accroître la productivité conchylicole. Une étude socio-économique des coûts, causés par la faible qualité de l'eau et les HAB et des bénéfices générés par l'utilisation du système d'alerte en ligne, sera réalisée.

Popular Articles

Les partenaires

présenter...

Premier contact:
  • Gavin Tilstone
  • Principle Investigator
  • +44 1752 633 100
Premier contact:
  • Francis Gohin
  • Research Investigator
  • +33 2 98 22 43 15
Premier contact:
  • Dr. Duncan Purdie
  • Research Investigator
  • +44 23 8059 2263
Premier contact:
  • Dr. Mike Best
  • Senior Marine Technical Advisor
  • 44 2030 256 117
Premier contact:
  • Sarah Clark
  • Research Investigator
  • +44 1803 854648
Premier contact:
  • Catherine Paul
  • Research Investigator
  • +33 2 33 43 32 92
Premier contact:
  • Pascal Raux
  • Research Assistant
  • +33 2 90 91 56 30

Evénements

 

21-22 Novembre 2017
réunion de lancement S-3 EUROHAB
Jury's Inn, Plymouth
10 Mai 2018
réunion d’association des parties-prenantes britanniques
Exeter Racecourse, Devon
16 Mai 2018
réunion d’association des parties-prenantes françaises
Caen, France

 

Réunion des partenaires du projet

 

9 Janvier 2018
réunion “portail de données”
via WebEx
2 Février 2018
réunion de suivi
via webEx
Mars 2018
réunion de suivi
via webEx
16 Mai 2018
réunion de suivi (6 mois)
IFREMER Port-en-Bessin, France
6-7 Novembre 2018
réunion de suivi (1 an)
University of Southampton, UK
11-12 Avril 2019
réunion de suivi (18 mois)
IFREMER, Boulogne, France
Novembre 2019
réunion de suivi (2 ans)
Environment Agency, Peterborough, UK
Avril 2020
réunion de suivi (30 mois)
CRPBN, Normandie, France
Novembre 2020
réunion de suivi (3 ans)
PML, Plymouth, UK
Avril 2021
réunion de suivi (42 mois)
UBO, Brest, France
Juin 2021 (TBC)
Symposium final
IFREMER, Brest, France

S-3 EUROHAB

Sentinel-3 satellite products for detecting Eutrophication and Harmful Algal Bloom events in the French-English CHANNEL

About The Project

S-3 EUROHAB will develop a web based Harmful Algal Bloom and Water Quality alert system that uses satellite data to improve the ways in which these parameters / phenomena are monitored. The system is being designed by scientists in collaboration with stakeholders, in particular marine managers and shellfishery end users.

The S-3 EUROHAB project will use data from the recently launched European satellite, Copernicus Sentinel 3, to track the biomass and spread of HABs in the Channel. In addition, the system will also be used to monitor water quality. The satellite data will then be used to create a web based alert system, the first of its kind in Europe, to alert marine managers and fishing industries of the growth of potentially damaging algal blooms. Data will also be gathered to help better understand why, how and when HABs occur as well as the economic costs associated with HABs and poor water quality and how the web based alert system may reduce these costs.

Background

A example satellite image showing an algal bloom off the Devon and Cornwall coast

Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs) are caused by excessive growth of marine algae which release harmful toxins into the water that can kill fish, shellfish and even humans when they consume contaminated fish. As a result they can have an extremely damaging effect on the tourism and fishing industries. In the EU, the annual cost of HABs to these industries is estimated to be in excess of 918 million euros. Poor water quality can also affect our coastal regions, which can adversely affect a number of maritime industries. For example, eutrophication is the anthropogenic enrichment of water by nutrients causing accelerated growth of algae and a deterioration in water quality.

Current methods of tracking HABs are expensive, costing 2 million euros annually to monitor just 6% of the Channel area. S-3 EUROHAB’s methods will not only cost significantly less, but will also cover the whole Channel area. The alert system will also result in much faster response times to HABs, potentially helping to mitigate the blooms which will help to reduce the millions of pounds lost each year as a result of HABs in both France and the UK. Improvements to existing methods will be made using satellite ocean colour data and in particular the application of the latest technological advancement in, and recent launch of, the European Copernicus Satellites. The project will use these satellite data to create a web based HAB and water quality alert system that will be designed alongside marine managers and industry end users to enhance the marine monitoring of HAB’s in the French-English Channel region.

The project budget is partially funded by the Interreg France (Channel) England programme, by the European Regional Development Fund. The project is made up of 9 organisations, 5 from France (IREMER-Brest, IFREMER-Port-en-Bessin, IFREMER-Boulogne-sur-Mer, Comité Régional des Pêches de Basse Normandie Universite de Brest) and 4 from the UK (Plymouth Marine Laboratory, Environment Agency, University of Southampton, Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority), and will run from November 2017 until October 2021.



Project Objectives

  1. 1.

    To create a cross-border monitoring network and data portal for assessing Good Environmental Status of the common waters between the French-English Channel.

  2. 2.

    To produce a Web based alert system for the detection of water quality and harmful algal blooms using the latest European Space Agency / Copernicus satellite data.

  3. 3.

    To conduct a socio-economic analysis of the impact of Harmful Algal Blooms in the French-English Channel.



Some key facts about the project...

 

Start Date

30 March 2017

 

End Date

31 October 2021

 

EDRF Contribution

€2.59M

 

Partners

9

For Users

S-3 EUROHAB will work with shellfishermen to develop new approaches to help manage harmful algal bloom and water quality related risks to their industry, to help minimise potential impacts on their business. Additionally, stakeholders and decision-makers from other sectors, for example, the tourism and recreational sectors, may be impacted by the presence of HABs.

The value of the South West UK shellfishery is €8.25M per yr, of which €2.9M is lost to Harmful Algal Blooms which could be saved by an alert system. The current costs of monitoring Harmful Algal Blooms in the French-English Channel is €2M per yr which cover 6% of the French-English Channel with the S-3 alert system the cost is €42K per yr for the entire French-English Channel.

basic data viewed in GIS portal
Web Alert System

S-3 EUROHAB has produced a web based alert system for a selection of the most important Harmful Algal Bloom Species. Currently the system provides data covering;

  • Karenia - responsible for reducing oxygen in the water column
  • Phaeocystis - responsible for producing foam
  • Pseudo-nitzschia - responsible for Amnesic Shellfish Poisoning

Images in the portal are provided in near real time so data up to a few days ago should be available. For more information on the Web Alert System please see the documentation here

For Science

Harmful Algal Blooms and Eutrophication are a common environmental problem in Europe. Both of these are currently monitored by coastal boat surveys and determination of phytoplankton species and associated toxins in water, fish and shellfish. If toxins exceed specified thresholds, large areas of the coast, shelf and estuaries are closed for harvest. Harmful Algal Blooms and Water Quality cannot be predicted and marine managers can only act on these events after they have happened. Current in situ monitoring under the Water Framework Directive only covers 3% of the total French-English Channel region. The monitoring sites are fixed and there is no current possibility of reactive sampling due to a lack of information. This limits the ability to track the dispersion of blooms from area to area, especially in the shelf waters of the Channel. The impacts of HABs are often worse on the French side of the Channel due to accumulation of phytoplankton caused by the prevailing currents and larger nutrient inputs to the coast from rivers.

The project is developing a cross-border data portal that includes both in situ monitoring data and data from the recently launched Copernicus Sentinel 3 (S-3) satellite available from the EU’s Earth Observation and Monitoring Programme. The data portal will be used to assess the principal drivers, dispersion and transport of key Harmful Algal Bloom species throughout the French-English Channel.

An early warning detection system

The data portal will also be used to develop a web based alert system to provide marine managers and the fish and shellfish industry with more detailed information on the whereabouts and potential dispersion of HABs in the Channel region. This will enable a quicker response time to closing certain areas affected by Harmful Algal Blooms for harvest, whilst allowing other areas to remain open, thus reducing the economic impacts on the industry. Other parameters that are useful for promoting the growth of spats to increase shellfish productivity will also be included in the alert system. A socio-economic survey of the cost of poor water quality and HABs and the benefit of using the web based alert system will be conducted.



Popular Articles

Keys, M., Tilstone, G., Findlay, H. S., Widdicombe, C. E., Lawson, T. 2018. Effects of elevated CO2 and temperature on phytoplankton community biomass, species composition and photosynthesis during an autumn bloom in the Western English Channel, Biogeosciences 15, 3203–3222, https://doi.org/10.5194/bg-15-3203-2018

Tilstone, GH; Mallor-hoya, S; Gohin, F; Bel Couto, A; Sa, C; Gloela, P; Cristina, S; Airs, RL; Icely, J; Zuhlke, M; Groom, SB. 2017. Which Ocean Colour algorithm for MERIS in NW European coastal waters?. Remote Sensing of Environment, 189. 132-151. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rse.2016.11.012;

Keys, M., Tilstone, G.H., Findlay, H., Widdicombe, C. 2017. Effects of elevated CO2 on phytoplankton community biomass and species composition during a spring Phaeocystis spp. bloom in the western English Channel, Harmful Algae, 67: 92-106 http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.hal.2017.06.005 ;

Barnes, M., Tilstone G.H., Smyth, T.J., Widdicombe C, Gloel J, Robinson C, Kaiser J, Suggett D. 2015. Drivers and effects of Karenia mikimotoi blooms in the western English Channel (1992-2010). Progress in Oceanography, 137: 456-469. doi:10.1016/j.pocean.2015.04.018;

Kurekin, A.A., Miller, P.I., Van der Woerd, H.J. 2014. Satellite discrimination of Karenia mikimotoi and Phaeocystis harmful algal blooms in European coastal waters: Merged classification of ocean colour data. Harmful Algae, 31; 163-176.

Downes-Tettmar, N., Rowland, S., Widdicombe, C., Woodward, E.M.S., Llewellyn, C. 2013. Seasonal variation in Pseudo-nitzschia spp. and domoic acid in the Western English Channel. Continental Shelf Research, 53: 40-49.

Shutler, J.D., Warren, M.A., Miller, P.I., Barciela, R., Mahdon, R., Land, P.E., Edwards, K., Wither, A., Jonas, P., Murdoch, N., Roast, S.D., Clements, O., Kurekin, A. Operational monitoring and forecasting of bathing water quality through exploiting satellite Earth observation and models: The Al- gaRisk demonstration service. Computers & Geosciences , 77: 87-96.

Project Partners

Introducing...

  • Primary Contact:
    • Gavin Tilstone
    • Principle Investigator
    • +44 1752 633 100
  • Primary Contact:
    • Francis Gohin
    • Research Investigator
    • +33 2 98 22 43 15
  • Primary Contact:
    • Dr. Duncan Purdie
    • Research Investigator
    • +44 23 8059 2263
  • Primary Contact:
    • Dr. Mike Best
    • Senior Marine Technical Advisor
    • 44 2030 256 117
  • Primary Contact:
    • Sarah Clark
    • Research Investigator
    • +44 1803 854648
  • Primary Contact:
    • Catherine Paul
    • Research Investigator
    • +33 2 33 43 32 92
  • Primary Contact:
    • Pascal Raux
    • Research Assistant
    • +33 2 90 91 56 30

Events

  • 21 November 2017 - 22 November 2017
    S3 EUROHAB Kick-Off Meeting
    Jury's Inn, Plymouth
  • 10 May 2018
    UK Stakeholders' Meeting
    Exeter Racecourse, Devon
  • 16 May 2018
    French Stakeholders' Meeting
    Caen, France

Project Partner Meetings

  • 09 January 2018
    Data Portal Meeting
    Online via WebEx
  • 02 February 2018
    Progress Meeting
    Online via webEx
  • 01 March 2018
    Progress Meeting
    Online via webEx
  • 16 May 2018
    6 Month Progress Meeting
    IFREMER Port-en-Bessin, France
  • 06 November 2018 - 07 November 2018
    12 Month Progress Meeting
    University of Southampton, UK
  • 03 April 2019 - 04 April 2019
    18 Month Progress Meeting
    IFREMER, Boulogne, France
  • 11 September 2019 - 12 September 2019
    24 Month Progress Meeting
    Environment Agency, Exeter, UK
  • 25 March 2020 - 26 March 2020
    30 Month Progress Meeting
    CRPBN, Normandie, France
  • 01 November 2020
    36 Month Progress Meeting
    PML, Plymouth, UK
  • 01 April 2021
    42 Month Progress Meeting
    UBO, Brest, France
  • 01 June 2021
    Final Symposium
    IFREMER, Brest, France